Skip to content
← All articles

Dictation Apps for Mac You Pay for Once, and What Your One Payment Buys

Ten Mac dictation apps you pay for once, from each maker's own page, and why Aurator's US$29 suits people who write a lot, coach and AI writing included.

By Nelson, maker of Aurator

Yes. I found ten Mac dictation apps you can pay for once, from US$19.99 to US$249.99, and Aurator is one of them. If you write a lot, Aurator is the better choice for most people, because its one payment of US$29 buys much more than dictation. It includes AI writing on Apple's model on your Mac, a coach that scores how you speak, History with your audio, and a guide to your own voice for Claude and ChatGPT. And US$69 covers every Mac on your Apple account, now and later. Three of the ten cost less for one Mac, and I name them near the end.

I make Aurator, so please read this knowing that. Everything I say about the other apps comes from each maker's own pricing page, help pages or FAQ, all checked on 7 October 2026, with the links at the end. I did not install or test them. I read what each maker says about its own app.

Why Aurator is the better choice for one payment

  1. Every feature in every plan. There is no Pro tier on top, and no monthly add-on for the cleanup. The three plans differ only in how many Macs they cover.
  2. AI writing is included. On a Mac with Apple Intelligence, rewrites, voice edits and Write for me run on Apple's model on your Mac, with no key.
  3. A coach for how you speak. Six scores with the formula shown, your crutch words counted, seven levels, 18 spoken lessons, and a Dashboard.
  4. Every AI draft is checked and waits for your Return.
  5. Your voice goes into Claude and ChatGPT. A guide built from what you said, with private details taken out.
  6. Every Mac on your Apple account for US$69. No seats to count, and the Macs you buy later are covered too.
  7. The rest is in the same payment. A dictionary that fixes misheard names and never changes a real word, a style for each app, and History with your audio.

Every pay-once Mac dictation app I found

Here they are, roughly from the lowest price up. Where a maker lists its price in euros, I have left it in euros, as they list it.

AppOne paymentMacs it coversUpdates, in the maker's wordsWhere speech runs
TongueType ProUS$19.99Up to 5 MacsNot statedOn your Mac
Dictato€19.99One Mac at a time, up to 3 moves in 30 daysLifetime updatesOn your Mac
VoiceInkUS$25, US$39 or US$491, 2 or 3 MacsLifetime of updatesOn your Mac
SpeakmacUS$29 or US$391 or 2 Macs12 months of updates, renewal optionalOn your Mac
AuratorUS$29, US$49 or US$691 Mac, 3 Macs, or every Mac on one Apple accountEvery future updateOn your Mac, cloud only if you turn it on
SpeakUp€29Up to 3 MacsAll future updatesOn your Mac
BetterDictationUS$39, US$49 or US$1491, 3 or 10 devicesRegular updatesOn your Mac, Pro post-processing uses OpenAI
MacWhisper Pro€64Your own devices, soft limit of 3Lifetime updatesOn your Mac, with local models
Voibe Dictation LifetimeUS$149One active Mac, plus a Windows PCFuture app updatesOn your Mac with Apple silicon, or its zero-retention cloud
Superwhisper LifetimeUS$249.99Unlimited Macs and Windows PCs, plus your iPhone and Android phoneNot stated, the lifetime key never expiresLocal models on your Mac, or cloud models

Wispr Flow is not in the table because it has no pay-once option. Its pricing page lists a free plan, then Pro at US$15 a month, or US$12 a month paid yearly. Spokenly's Pro plan is a subscription too, though its local models are free.

What Aurator's US$29 covers

  1. Dictation in every app, cleaned up. Hold a key, talk, let go, and the text lands where your cursor is a moment later. Aurator's own rules take out um and uh on your Mac, and a line after each paste tells you what changed, for example "3 fillers cut, 3 words tighter." There is no word limit.
  2. AI writing. Styles turn your words into Concise, Polished email or Bullet points, and you set one for each app, Polished email in Mail and plain in Slack. Edit by voice changes selected text when you say how. Write for me writes a whole message from a short spoken request. On a Mac with Apple Intelligence these run on Apple's model on your Mac. Without it, they work with your own Anthropic key.
  3. Checked drafts. Every AI draft waits next to what you said, and goes in only when you press Return. Plain rules check it first. A Write for me draft is refused if it opens like a chatbot, leaves blanks, or adds a link, an amount of money, a date or a password request you never gave. A style or an edit is also refused if it drops or adds a "not", or moves numbers to different things.
  4. A coach. Six scores from your own dictations, pace, fluency, directness, concision, clarity and vocabulary, each with its formula shown in the app. Your crutch words with real counts. An Aura Score with seven levels, from Hesitant Speaker to Master Communicator, that only dictations of 25 spoken words or more can raise. Eighteen short lessons you answer out loud, which never count in your score.
  5. A Dashboard. Words a minute, speaking time and words dictated with trend lines, your filler rate per 100 words over time, a 120-day heat map, and the hours and apps where you talk.
  6. A dictionary that knows a name from a word. A misheard name of five letters or more is corrected by spelling and by sound. A word the Mac's spelling dictionary knows is never changed, so "strip" never becomes "Stripe". Replacements are exact, and Aurator suggests names that keep coming up in your last 200 dictations.
  7. History with your audio. Play any dictation back at up to twice the speed, search it, keep favourites, and export what you find as Markdown.
  8. My Voice. From about 30 of your longer dictations, a guide to how you speak and write. It takes out emails, phone numbers, links, money amounts, health details, names and long quotes, shows you what it removed, and downloads as a skill for Claude or copies for ChatGPT.
  9. And the rest. Voice commands in English, audio and video file transcription on your Mac, and Cloud with your own keys if you ever want it.

Read the fine print on pay once

"Pay once" does not mean the same thing on every page.

  1. How long the updates last. Most of these apps promise lifetime or all future updates. Speakmac includes 12 months of updates, and after that, in its own words, the version you have keeps working forever and renewing is optional. TongueType's page does not say.
  2. Whether the cleanup is part of it. BetterDictation's lifetime plans include basic transcription. Its Pro features, stammer correction, automatic formatting and post-processing with OpenAI prompts, cost US$2 a month billed annually, after three free months on its Flex and Studio plans, and Pro needs the internet. So part of BetterDictation is a subscription after all.
  3. Whether the cloud costs extra. Aurator charges nothing for Cloud. If you turn it on, your own Deepgram and Anthropic accounts bill you for what you use. With Cloud off, there is nothing more to pay.
  4. How you try it and get your money back. Aurator gives seven days with every feature and no card, then a full refund within 30 days. Voibe and SpeakUp also give 30-day money-back guarantees, Superwhisper says a 30-day refund is available on all its plans, and Dictato, VoiceInk, Speakmac and BetterDictation each give 14 days.

The math against a subscription is in What a Voice App Actually Costs You, Three Years In.

How licences count your Macs

These apps count Macs in five ways. Per Mac, as VoiceInk, Speakmac, BetterDictation, TongueType, SpeakUp and Aurator's first two plans do. Your own devices with a soft limit, as MacWhisper does. One Mac at a time, as Dictato and Voibe do. One person on every platform, as Superwhisper's Pro licence does.

And one Apple account, which is Aurator's every Mac plan. It covers every Mac signed in to your Apple account, now and later, for US$69. When you activate it, Aurator asks iCloud for a private id for your Apple account and hashes it before it sends it. It never sees your Apple ID, your name or your email. Each person in a family has their own Apple account, so it covers one person's Macs, not a family.

When another app still fits

  1. A lower price. TongueType, Dictato and VoiceInk cost less than Aurator for one Mac. Speakmac costs the same, US$29.
  2. More Macs for less. TongueType covers up to five Macs for US$19.99, and SpeakUp covers up to three for €29.
  3. Older macOS or an Intel Mac. VoiceInk needs macOS 14.4 or later, Dictato and TongueType macOS 14, and SpeakUp macOS 14.6. Aurator needs macOS 26. Speakmac says it supports Intel Macs, and Voibe says its cloud mode works on them.
  4. Windows and phones. Superwhisper's lifetime licence covers Windows PCs and phones, and a Voibe seat includes a Windows PC. Aurator is for the Mac only.
  5. More languages. BetterDictation and Superwhisper say 100 or more, MacWhisper 100, Dictato up to 99 and SpeakUp more than 30. Aurator works in ten.
  6. Open source. VoiceInk is built in public on GitHub.
  7. Nothing to pay at all. Superwhisper's free plan, MacWhisper's free version and Spokenly's free local models all dictate on your Mac, and Apple's Dictation is built into macOS.

What I would tell you to do

Count your Macs, including the next one you will buy. Then give Aurator seven days of your real emails, messages and notes, and look at what the coach and the Dashboard found. Aurator is at tryaurator.app, and you can download it here. Seven days free, with every feature, then US$29 once, with a full refund within 30 days if it is not for you.

And if you think I got something wrong about any of these apps, please write to me at hello@tryaurator.app. I would really like to correct it.


Sources, all checked on 7 October 2026